It started with a story…

In 2006 I was living in a 1975 Chevy van with my Rottweiler and my cat in a Walmart parking lot in the Highlands Ranch suburbs of Denver, Colorado. Less than a mile or so down the road from where I slept was a Rolls-Royce dealership. Highlands Ranch you see, is the richest neighborhood in Denver, and yet there were dozens of homeless people living there.

Three years later, I was more or less out of my van, speaking at TED Global in Oxford, England, as the guest of Dan Pink, the former head speechwriter for Al Gore, who was the former Vice President of the United States. What’s so funny is that before Al Gore became Vice-President, he used to come into my office in Knoxville, TN and sit on my desk in the newsroom of The Knoxville Journal. We were both skinnier then, and full of hope and dreams about our futures….

That’s how this story begins. It’s important that you understand that everything starts with a story. Life is story. Without it you can’t have anything.

One thought on “It started with a story…

Leave a Reply

